Specialized Agencies

Shanghai Cooperation Organisation

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization Committee (SCO) was announced on June 15th, 2001 in Shanghai (China) by the People’s Republic of China, the REpublic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Russian Federation, The Republic of Tajikistan, and the Republic of Uzbekistan. It precedes the Shanghai Five mechanism and serves as a permanent intergovernmental international organization for political, economic, and security for Eurasian States. On June 2002, the Shanghai Cooperation Organization Charter was signed during the St. Petersburg SCO Heads of State Meeting that outlines the organization’s goals and principles as well as structure and activities.

The main goals of the SCO follows: “ strengthening mutual trust and neighbourliness among the member states; promoting their effective cooperation in politics, trade, the economy, research, technology and culture, as well as in education, energy, transport, tourism, environmental protection, and other areas; making joint efforts to maintain and ensure peace, security and stability in the region; and moving towards the establishment of a democratic, fair and rational new international political and economic order.” During this iteration, the SCO will discuss Economic Integration, Military Security, and Potential Expansion and Membership of the organization.

Email Address: shanghai@mcmun.org

Meet Your Dais Members

Beryl Liu.jpeg

Beryl Liu


Sully Dawood.jpg

Sully Dawood

Vice Chair

Cindy Song.jpg

Cindy Song

Vice Chair

Siddak Ahuja.JPG

Siddak Ahuja

Vice Chair